Czech Republic’s Markéta Davidová, centre, won the women’s 10km gala mass start event ©IBU

Ukraine’s Taras Lesiuk and Czech Republic’s Markéta Davidová claimed gold medals on the final day of competition at the International Biathlon Union (IBU) Summer Biathlon World Championships in Brezno-Osrblie in Slovakia.

Lesiuk produced a clean four rounds to capture the men’s 12.5-kilometre gala mass start title in 32min 34.3sec.

Romania’s Dmitrii Shamaev came second in 32:42.9, with Lithuania’s Vytautas Strolia placing third in 32:51.0.

"It is a really crazy day for me," said Lesiuk.

"It was my first victory in the high category.

"Today was a really hard day.

"I cannot believe that I did it.

"It was the first time that I raced without a penalty loop.


"I cannot describe this [feeling]."

The other winner on the final day was Davidová, a gold medallist in the winter version of the World Championships in 2021.

The Czech biathlete won the women’s 10km gala mass start event in 29:03.0.

Germany's Marion Wiesensarter celebrates winning the women's 7.5km super sprint final ©IBU
Germany's Marion Wiesensarter celebrates winning the women's 7.5km super sprint final ©IBU

She did enough to finish ahead of Estonia's Tuuli Tomingas and Germany's Marion Wiesensarter who crossed in 29:11.1 and 29:15.1 respectively.

"I am happy especially with my shooting because I was struggling this whole summer with my shooting," said Davidová.

"I am happy to know that I can do it, but there is still a lot of work to do."

Belgium’s Florent Claude rose to the top of the podium for the first time with victory in the men’s 7.5km sprint competition in 17:52.6.

It was a long-awaited win for Claude who has not won an IBU medal since claiming sprint silver at the 2012 IBU Junior World Championships.

Andrejs Rastorgujevs of Latvia had finished second only to be disqualified after judges ruled that he had violated safety regulations over the position of his rifle when skiing away from the skiing event.

The decision meant Strolia moved into second spot in 18:19.7, while Sweden's Jesper Nelin was elevated to bronze-medal position with 18:21.7.

Wiesensarter of Germany clinched the women's 7.5km super sprint in 23:13.4, overcoming Tomingas who clocked 23:23.2 for silver.

The bronze went to Germany’s Lisa Maria Spark who finished in 23:28.9.

Rastorguyevs clocked 20:07.2 for first place in the men’s 7.5km super sprint final, beating Tomas Mikyska of the Czech Republic who finished in 20:12.1.

Ukraine’s Artem Tyshchenko produced a perfect round to rise to third in 20:20.4.