Japan's Tokito Oda has become the youngest men's wheelchair tennis Grand Slam winner at the age of 17 with victory at the French Open in Paris ©Getty Images

Japanese teenager Tokito Oda made wheelchair tennis history by becoming the youngest men’s singles world number one and Grand Slam champion at the age of 17 after beating Britain’s Alfie Hewett in French Open final.

Hewett was seeking to win his fourth men’s singles title at Roland Garros but was swept aside by Oda on the Parisian clay.

Oda powered to a 6-1, 6-4 victory which sees him replace Hewett as the number one ranked player in the world.

"I am feeling like it is the happiest day of my life," said Oda.

"I was really happy to get my two dreams on one day for [being] the youngest player as the number one in the world and to win by first Grand Slam title."

Hewett bounced back from his singles defeat to team up with fellow Briton Gordon Reid to secure the men’s doubles crown courtesy of their 7-6, 7-5 win over Spain's Martín de la Puente and Argentina's Gustavo Fernández.

It was the pair's fourth consecutive victory in the tournament. 

Dutch star Diede de Groot captured her 10th consecutive women's singles Grand Slam crown with a 6-2, 6-0 thrashing of Japan's Yui Kamiji.

It was a battle between the top two seeds but de Groot dominated the clash, claiming her 40th win in 55 outings against her Japanese rival.

De Groot admitted that she was delighted Roland Garros had increased the wheelchair draws to 16 players this year.

"I think it’s so good that all of the Grand Slams are supporting this, and I think it will definitely help raise the level of wheelchair tennis," she said.

"Hopefully it doesn’t take too long for all of those good players on the bottom of the draw to keep up."

The Netherlands' Diede de Groot, right, thumped Japan's Yui Kamiji to win her 10th successive Grand Slam title ©Getty Images
The Netherlands' Diede de Groot, right, thumped Japan's Yui Kamiji to win her 10th successive Grand Slam title ©Getty Images

Kamiji gained revenged when she joined forces with South Africa's Kgothatso Montjane to beat de Groot and Argentina's María Florencia Moreno 6-2, 6-3.

Niels Vink came from behind to defend his quad singles title 3-6, 6-4, 6-4 in an all-Dutch final against Sam Schröder.

Britain's Andy Lapthorne and South Africa's Donald Ramphadi won a deciding tie-break to defeat Heath Davidson of Australia and Robert Shaw of Canada 1-6, 6-2, 10-3 in the quad doubles final.