Badminton Asia's newly elected officials will hold office from 2023 until 2027 ©Badminton Asia

South Korean Kim Jong Soo has been appointed as the new President of Badminton Asia at the organisation’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) held in Dubai.

Soo, a former badminton player, and part of the South Korea team that won men's gold at the 1986 Asian Games, coached the South Korean national team from 2000 until 2010.

He was elected as a director of the Badminton World Federation in 2021.

A total of 35 delegates attended the Badminton Asia AGM in-person at the Intercontinental Dubai Marina, with five joining virtually.

Outgoing President Anton Subowo welcomed delegates to the meeting by acknowledging the organisation’s progress in 2022, before thanking members for their "unity and collective effort."

Soo was voted in as the organisation’s new President, with Malaysia’s Datuk Kenny Goh Chee Keong of Malaysia voted as the new secretary general, replacing Moosa Nashid.

Outgoing Badminton Asia President Anton Subowo thanked members for their
Outgoing Badminton Asia President Anton Subowo thanked members for their "unity and collective efforts" during 2022 ©Getty Images

Lebanon’s Jassem Kanso remains as Badminton Asia’s treasurer.

Seven vice-presidents were appointed - Muhammad Fadil Imran of Indonesia, Noura Hassan Mohammad Ismail Aljasmi of the United Arab Emirates, Maria Do Carmo of Macau, Mohammad Reza Pouria of Iran, Omar Mohammad Bani Hani of Jordan, Kholoud Bitar of Syria and Mastoora Arezo of Afghanistan.

All officials will hold office for the period of 2023 through to 2027.

During the meeting Tan Sri Dr Norza Zakaria from Malaysia was appointed as an Honorary President.

Badminton Asia, established in 1959, is the governing body for the sport in the Asian continent.