Felice Albers is the second youngest winner of the women's Player of the Year ©Getty Images

The Netherlands' Felice Albers and India's Harmanpreet Singh have been named the International Hockey Federation (FIH) Player of the Year for the 2021-2022 season in the women's and men's competitions respectively.

Meanwhile, Janneke Schopmann of The Netherlands and Graham Reid of Australia sealed the FIH Coach of the Year awards.

Albers has become the second youngest winner of the Player of the Year award at the age of 22.

She played a crucial part in The Netherlands scoring 42 goals in 16 games during the latest FIH Pro League season and then 17 goals in six games at the FIH Hockey Women's World Cup.

The Olympic champions finished second in the Pro League but achieved a third successive World Cup gold medal.

Albers put the finishing touch on her country's World Cup campaign by netting one of the best goals of the year.

She beat Argentines María José Granatto and Agustina Gorzelany, Dutch compatriot Frédérique Matla and Spaniard Georgina Oliva to the accomplishment.

Harmanpreet Singh has won the FIH men's Player of the Year back-to-back ©Getty Images
Harmanpreet Singh has won the FIH men's Player of the Year back-to-back ©Getty Images

Harmanpreet has taken the men's Player of the Year award for the second consecutive year after producing another season of defensive and goalscoring prowess.

He notched 18 goals from 16 games, including two hat-tricks, during the Pro League to conclude the season as top scorer for India, and is now the record holder for most goals tallied by a player in a single season of the Pro League.

The 26-year-old was influential during India's silver medal performance at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games and their bronze medal campaign at the 2021 Men's Asian Champions Trophy.

Dutchman Thierry Brinkman, Belgian duo Tom Boon and Arthur de Sloover and German athlete Niklas Wellen were the other nominees.

For the coaching category, Schopmann was recognised as the best female candidate after guiding India to third in their debut season of the Pro League.

She led her side to victories over Germany, The Netherlands, Spain and even a shoot-out triumph against eventual winners Argentina, despite star player Rani Rampal being injured for most of the year.

Following a disappointing World Cup, Schopmann coached India to bronze at the Commonwealth Games, which was the first time they had achieved the feat in 16 years.

Schopmann received the vast majority of the vote, with compatriot Raoul Ehren, England's Adrian Lock, Germany's Jamilon Mülders and Australian Katrina Powell also being on the ballot.

Reid, who coaches India's men's team, was the overwhelming choice to take home the men’s award following his side's impressive Pro League outing and Commonwealth Games success.

India also won the inaugural FIH Hockey5s after going unbeaten.

Jeroen Delmee and Michel van den Heuvel of The Netherlands, Garreth Ewing of South Africa and Frédéric Soyez of France were also listed as candidates.

Other awards include New Zealander Amber Church and Dutchman Coan van Bunge being recognised as the women's and men's FIH Umpires of the Year and Indian pair Savita and PR Sreejesh winning the FIH Goalkeeper of the Year equivalent.

Also, Mumtaz Khan, another Indian, and France's Timothée Clément received the FIH Rising Star of the Year awards for the women's and men's.