Courtney Conlogue earned a first Championship Tour victory since 2019 in Tahiti ©Getty Images

Courtney Conlogue and Miguel Pupo claimed victories at the final regular-season leg of the World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour in Tahiti, while Olympic silver medallist Kanoa Igarashi did just enough to qualify for the finals.

Pupo saw off local wildcard Kauli Vaast in the men's final to secure his maiden Championship Tour victory on the Teahupo'o wave due to host surfing come the Paris 2024 Olympics.

The Brazilian started well but it was scores of 9.00 and 8.17 on his fifth and sixth waves which secured the win, disappearing inside a barrel before emerging with impressive speed on both occasions.

Pupo ended the final with 17.17 points versus Vaast's 15.00.

Pupo knocked out Americans Nat Young and Jake Marshall, Japan's Igarashi and compatriot Caio belli en route to the final, but fell narrowly short of qualifying for the end-of-season finals by virtue of Igarashi reaching the last eight.

Igarashi's 4,745 points from this event lift him to 40,270 in total - just 85 more than Pupo, who amassed 10,000 with the victory

Igarashi leapfrogged American Griffin Colapinto and has clamed the last spot in the finals, alongside Olympic champion Italo Fereira from Brazil, Australian pair Ethan Ewing and Jack Robinson plus leader Filipe Toledo from Brazil.

Vaast beat Ewing and American great Kelly Slater to reach the final.

In the women's event, Conlogue defeated Costa Rica's Brisa Hennessy in the final for a first WSL Championship Tour win since 2019.

Conlogue scored 7.17 points for a crisp ride of a steep wave, kneeling on the surfboard for part of it, and that was better than Hennessy's two-wave total.

While there was no change in the overall top five, Hennessy did move to fourth with the second-place finish.

Australia's Stephanie Gilmore, Brazilian Tatiana Weston-Webb, Johanne Defay from France and reigning Olympic and WSL champion Carissa Moore will join Hennessy at the finals off the California coast next month.

Moore competes under a Hawaiian flag at WSL events but won the first Olympic women's surfing gold medal for the United States last year.

Local wildcard Vahine Fierro knocked Moore out in the quarter-finals at Teahupo'o.

A Paris 2024 delegation including President Tony Estanguet has been in Tahiti this week for a visit coinciding with the WSL event.