The 2021 World Rowing Awards were held online ©World Rowing

Olympic gold medallists Fintan McCarthy and Paul O'Donovan of Ireland have been named World Rowing Men's Crew of the Year while China's champion quadruple sculls line-up won the women's title at the 2021 World Rowing Awards.

The Irish pair won gold at Tokyo 2020 in the men's lightweight double sculls after defeating Germany by less than a second in the final.

It was the first ever gold for Ireland in rowing at the Olympics.

The duo were unbeaten in 2021 and also won gold at the European Rowing Championships in Varese in Italy.

In the online ceremony, Chen Yunxia, Zhang Ling, Lü Yang and Cui Xiaotong of China were recognised as the Women's Crew of the Year.

A stunning year also saw them win the women's quadruple sculls Olympic gold medal with a new world record time of 6min 5.13sec.

The quartet are undefeated in the discipline since first competing together in 2019.

Canada's Michelle Darvill was named as Coach of the Year after leading her nation to a surprise gold medal in the women's eight competition at Tokyo 2020.

She has been a part of Canada's coaching set-up since 2009 and has gained success with the under-23 team and the seniors.

Ukrainian single sculler Roman Polianskyi was awarded with the Para Crew of the Year title.

The 35-year-old won his second Paralympic gold in Japan, after Rio 2016, and earlier in 2021 triumphed at the European Rowing Championships in April.

The Thomas Keller Medal went to Norway's Ola Tufte.

It is awarded to an individual who has had an outstanding international career.

Tufte has competed in seven Olympic Games, from 1996 to 2021, winning four medals.

He won single sculls gold at Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008 as well as a silver at Sydney 2000 and bronze at Rio 2016 in the double sculls competition.

Peter and Dick Dreissigacker of the United States win the Distinguished Service to International Rowing award.

The brothers are said to have "transformed the rowing world with their carbon fibre oars and with their creation of the Concept2 Indoor Rower."