Diede de Groot was pivotal to The Netherlands' World Team Cup win over the RTF ©Getty Images

The Netherlands won their women's and quad ties today on the second day of the Wheelchair Tennis World Team Cup, as pool standings started to take form in Sardinia in Italy.

Jiske Griffioen started with a 6-0, 6-0 victory over the Russian Tennis Federation's (RTF) Amina Mangutova in the women's competition and her compatriot Diede de Groot won 6-1, 6-1 against Viktoriia Lvova in the second singles match.

De Groot and Aniek van Koot completed a dominant performance in the doubles, beating Lvova and Mangutova 6-1, 6-0.

Momoko Ohtani and Yui Kamiji led Japan to a 3-0 victory over South Africa.

Ohtani defeated Nokwanda Hlongwane 6-1, 6-1 and Kamiji defeated Hlongwane 6-1, 6-1 too.

The pair then won 6-1, 6-0 against Mariska Venter and Mabel Mankgele.

Cornelia Oosthuizen led Britain to a 3-0 victory over Mexico, starting with a 6-0, 6-0 win over Rosalba Vazquez Ramos, and her team mate Lucy Shuker won 6-0, 6-0 against Claudia Taboada.

Abbie Breakwell and Oosthuizen then won 6-1, 6-1 against Vazquez Ramos and Taboada in the doubles.

Dutch pair Niels Vink and Sam Schröder won all three of their matches in the quad discipline against Britain's Greg Slade and James Shaw.

Vink won 6-1, 6-1 against Slade, Schröder defeated Shaw 6-0, 6-1 in the other singles match, and the pair won the doubles 6-0, 6-0.

Japan's quad players Shota Kawano and Koji Sugeno won their matches against Canada, with Kawano starting with a 6-7, 7-5, 6-2 win over Gary Luker.

Sugeno then won 6-4, 6-2 over Rob Shaw and the pair defeated Shaw and Mitch McIntyre 7-5, 4-6, 10-4.

In the men's wheelchair competition, Spain defeated the United States 3-0, starting with Daniel Caverzaschi's 6-0, 6-2 singles win over Conner Stroud.

Martin de la Puente claimed the second victory over Casey Ratzlaff 6-4, 6-1; and their team mates Francisco Garcia Vena and Enrique Siscar won 6-4, 4-6, 11-9 against Stroud and Ratzlaff.

Finally, Poland defeated Austria 2-1. 

It was Thomas Flax who put the Austrians in front with a singles win against Piotr Jaroszewski 6-2, 7-5.

Kamil Fabisiak levelled the score with a 7-6, 6-2 victory over Josef Riegler, and Fabisiak and Jaroszewski won 7-6, 7-6 over Riegler and Martin Legner.