Germany's Eric Frenzel and Fabian Rießle won the men's Nordic combined team event ©Getty Images

Germany's Eric Frenzel and Fabian Rießle joined forces to earn Nordic combined team sprint victory at the International Ski Federation Nordic World Ski Championships in Seefeld.

The pairing, who now have four Olympic gold medals and 10 world titles between them, began the competition in impressive fashion at the Austrian venue, as they topped the ski jumping standings.

Frenzel contributed 129.9 points to their combined total of 258.2 points, as the German achieved the second furthest distance of the competition.

Only Japan's Akito Watabe earned a higher points total with his 130 points helping him start eight seconds behind the German pairing in the cross-country event, alongside his brother Yoshito.

Frenzel and Rießle were able to remain clear of their nearest rivals throughout the duration of the cross-country.

The competition saw both men lead the way during their respective 7.5 kilometre efforts.

The German pairing would cross the line in a winning time of 28min 29.5sec as Frenzel added to the individual/large hill gold he had already claimed in Seefeld. 

"It was such a cool day today," said Rießle.

"We were both able to show a good jump.

"The race was simply so cool.

"Now it just feels amazing to be world champion."

Rather than attempting to catch the Germans during the cross-country, Japan's Watabe brothers faced a fight to hold onto their medal position.

They proved unable to do so, as Norway's Jan Schmid and Jarl Magnus Riiber overtook them to take the silver medal in a time of 28:10.7.

The Norwegians finished one second clear of Austria's Franz-Josef Rehrl and Bernhard Gruber, who secured the bronze.

Germany emerged as the winners of the team ski jumping event ©Getty Images
Germany emerged as the winners of the team ski jumping event ©Getty Images

The Watabe brothers faded to fourth place as the duo eventually ended 56.4 seconds off the pace of the winners.

Further team success continued for Germany as their four man squad earned ski jumping honours.

Newly crowned large hill world champion Markus Eisenbichler combined with Karl Geiger, Richard Freitag and Stephan Leyhe to win the team competition with a score of 987.5 points.

Austria's Phillipp Aschewald, Michael Haybock, Daniel Huber and Stefan Kraft were second on 930.9, while Japan's Yukiya Sato, Daiki Ito, Junshioro and Ryoyu Kobayashi rounded off the podium on 920.2.

Norway were treated to team cross-country sprint gold in the men's 6x1.6km competition as Emil Iversen and individual sprint winner Johannes Hoesflot Klaebo topped the standings.

The duo crossed the finish line with a winning time of 18:49.86, as Russia's Gleb Retivykh and Alexander Bolshunov were second, 1.88 seconds down.

Bronze was won by Francesco De Febiani and Federico Pellegrino as the Italians clocked 18:53.89.

Sweden's individual silver medallist Stina Nilsson and Maja Dahlqvist secured the women’s team sprint crown, after completing the 6x1.2km event in 15:14.93.

They ended 0.37 seconds clear of Slovenia's Katja Visnar and Anamarija Lampic, who claimed the silver medal.

Norway's Ingvild Flugstad Østberg and Maiken Caspersen Falla were third in 15:15.53.