Japan and Australia are both considered strong contenders for success at the 2017 FIBA Women's Asia Cup ©FIBA

The 2017 International Basketball Federation (FIBA) Women’s Asia Cup is due to begin tomorrow in Indian city Bangalore, where places for next year’s World Cup will be up for grabs.

The four teams that make it through to the semi-finals of Division A at the Kanteerava Indoor Stadium will qualify for the World Cup in Spain.

FIBA Oceania nations Australia and New Zealand are competing in the Asian tournament for the first time in a bid to ensure a higher level of competition for both countries.

They have both been placed in Division A, but have been drawn in separate groups.

New Zealand find themselves in Group A alongside Chinese Taipei, North Korea and China.

The Philippines, South Korea and reigning champions Japan are in Group B with the Australians, who finished third at the 2014 World Cup in Turkey.

South Korea are among the teams in Group B of Division A ©FIBA
South Korea are among the teams in Group B of Division A ©FIBA

In Division B, host nation India will meet Sri Lanka and Uzbekistan in Group A.

American Samoa were also due to compete, but have pulled out of the competition.

Lebanon, Singapore, Kazakhstan and Fiji make up Group B.

While World Cup qualification is not on offer for those in Division B, the winners will be promoted to Division A.

The 2018 Women's Basketball World Cup is due to be held between September 22 and 30.