By James Crook

165664786April 9 - Geraint Richards, the Tennis Foundation's Head of Disability Player Performance, has announced 11 of the 12 British players that will compete at the BNP Paribas wheelchair tennis World Team Cup in Antalya, Turkey, from May 20 until 26.

The 21-year-old British number one Gordon Reid is part of the men's team- captained by Karen Ross- who will compete in Men's World Group 1, along with Marc McCarroll and David Phillipson.

Lucy Shuker and Jordanne Whiley, who won bronze at London 2012 together in the doubles, are both included in the women's team along with Louise Hunt, with Katie O'Brien given the role of captain.

In the quad team, world number one doubles player and London 2012 silver medallist Andrew Lapthorne is selected, alongside Beijing 2008 bronze medallist Jamie Burdekin and Antony Cotterill, with Stuart Wilkinson installed as captain.

151569829London 2012 bronze medallists Lucy Shuker and Jordanne Whiley have been named in the women's team 

Ash Smith is named as captain of a junior team boasting two hugely promising talents; the seemingly unstoppable Alfie Hewett, the reigning world junior doubles and singles masters champion, and his fellow world junior number one Lauren Jones, with the final place still to be announced.

Richards said: "Last year was a memorable season for British wheelchair tennis and, after winning a silver medal in the quad event and bronze medals in the women's and junior events at the World Team Cup, our players went on to win two medals at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

"We have selected our strongest team again this year and we will use the fantastic efforts of the Aegon GB Davis Cup team this weekend as inspiration to challenge for even more medals in Antalya."

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]