Egypt are squash powerhouses, and one of nine teams set to take part in the Squash World Cup in June ©Getty Images

A line-up of nine teams has been revealed for the first Squash World Cup in more than a decade, set to be held in Chennai later this year.

Hosts India are one of four Asian teams due to compete, with the others being Japan, Malaysia and Hong Kong.

Egypt, the winners of the last Squash World Cup in 2011, are joined by South Africa, from Africa.

Egypt are powerhouses in the sport, with their players comprising five of the top 10 men and women on the Professional Squash Association World Tour rankings.

The 2011 runners-up England are the European representatives, with Australia representing Oceania and Colombia the sole South American side.

Egypt won the last edition of the Squash World Cup back in 2011 ©WSF
Egypt won the last edition of the Squash World Cup back in 2011 ©WSF

Several of squash's stars are set to be absent because their countries have not entered a team, including men's world number two Diego Elias of Peru and the men's and women's number four Paul Coll and Joelle King, both of New Zealand.

The Squash World Cup format has been revamped since the last edition in 2011, with matches to be played over the best of five games to seven points, even if tied at 6-6.

Ties are set to consist of four matches between the teams, who comprise of two men and two women.

The round-robin pool stage is due to be followed by quarter-finals, semi-finals and the final on the all-glass show court at the Express Avenue Mall.

The World Squash Federation relaunched the team competition at last year's Conference and Annual General Meeting, and it is scheduled for June 13 to 17.