Dajana Eitberger claimed the women's sprint title today in Oberhof ©Getty Images

Germany claimed all four gold medals on the opening day of the International Luge Federation (FIL) Luge World Championships, continuing the expected dominance in the sport from the host nation in Oberhof.

The women's sprint was controlled by the Germans, who occupied all of the top four spots, but it was Dajana Eitberger who claimed the gold medal in a time of 26.204sec.

Just 0.001sec behind her was Julia Taubitz, the 2021 singles and sprint champion.

Anna Berreiter took the bronze medal, 0.028 off the pace of Eitberger, with compatriot Merle Fräbel the unlucky fourth in front of Austrian Madeleine Egle.

Felix Loch ensured both singles sprint titles went to the home favourites, winning the men's event in a time of 33.544, 0.073sec in front of silver medallist Jonas Müller from Austria.

Max Langenhan made it two Germans on the podium, finishing 0.122 behind Loch; and ahead of Austrian David Gleirscher and Latvian Kristers Aparjods.

Felix Loch was victorious in the men's sprint ©Getty Images
Felix Loch was victorious in the men's sprint ©Getty Images

The closest to a German defeat came in the women's doubles sprint - which  made its debut at the World Championships.

Jessica Degenhardt and Cheyenne Rosenthal won in a time of 31.205, only 0.016 in front of Austrians Selina Egle and Lara Michaela Kipp.

Andrea Vötter and Marion Oberhofer of Italy finished third, just 0.023 behind the Germans - making it the only podium of the day to have three different national flags raised.

Nadia Falkensteiner and Annalena Huber of Italy were fourth, followed by Anda Upite and Sanija Ozolina of Latvia.

Germany had a one-two in the men's sprint doubles, with Toni Eggert and Sascha Benecken coming out on top in a time of 26.248, 0.036 in front of their rival compatriots Tobias Wendl and Tobias Arlt.

The bronze medal went to Yannick Müller and Armin Frauscher of Austria, 0.069 behind the winners.

Martins Bots and Roberts Plume from Latvia were fourth and the Italian duo Emanuel Rieder and Simon Kainzwaldner were fifth.