The World Sailing Awards were held at the Yas Marina in Abu Dhabi ©Getty Images

World Nacra 17 champions Ruggero Tita and Caterina Banti were recognised as the male and female World Sailors of the Year at the World Sailing Awards at Yas Marina in Abu Dhabi.

The pair, who also sealed gold medals at Tokyo 2020 last year, were formidable throughout the 49er, 49erFX and Nacra17 World Championships last month, winning all but two of their initial 16 races.

Tita and Banti also partnered to claim a European gold medal as well as the overall title at the Trofeo Princesa Sofía Mallorca in April.

Australia SailGP was judged as the Team of the Year after winning back-to-back SailGP titles.

McConaghy Boats' Vortex Pod Racer was voted Boat of the Year for being lightweight, stable and requiring little operational effort.

Qingdao Municipal Sports Bureau won the President's Development Award for striving to make the city China’s "Sailing City".

Qingdao hosted the sailing event during the Beijing 2008 Olympics and has since held several high-level international competitions such as the Sailing World Cup, Extreme Sailing Series, the World Yacht Race as well as creating its own national and regional tournaments.

Additionally, among the local authority's programmes to increase participation is the Promoting Sailing in School, which has seen more than 37,000 students from 114 schools learn to sail, 10,500 gaining sailing certificates and an excess of 200 becoming national first-level athletes.

Through the Welcome on Board initiative, approximately 530,000 people experienced sailing.

The 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award was achieved by Greenboats for the leading design and manufacture of natural fibre products and components.

It is responsible for the FLAX27 Daysailor concept boat, which is tipped to transform the future of sailing.

As part of the prize, Greenboats will receive $10,000 (£8,700/€10,000) to continue their sustainability efforts.

The winner of the Beppe Croce award was Australian David Tillett, who received recognition for his work as chair of the Constitution Committee as well as his overall contribution to sailing.

His past commitment to the sport includes being a member of the Olympic Jury at Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000, Athens 2004, Beijing 2008, and London 2012 as well as serving as chairman for the latter three Olympic Games.

He was umpire for the America's Cup from 1992 to 2007, a World Sailing Council member from 1998 to 2017 and chairman of the World Sailing Racing Rules Committee between 2000 and 2012.

Tillett currently chairs the World Sailing Constitution Committee, where he has been a member since 2012.

"The accomplishments of all of this year's nominees have been truly incredible to witness," said Quanhai Li, World Sailing President.

"Sailing is blessed with so many talented, determined and accomplished athletes who I am sure will continue to amaze and inspire throughout their careers."