Shaoang Liu retained his overall title at the World Short Track Speed Skating Championships ©Getty Images

Hungary’s Shaoang Liu retained his overall title at the World Short Track Speed Skating Championships to finish the event in Montreal with four gold medals.

Liu, who won the 500 metres and 1,500m crowns yesterday, finished the 1,000m final in 1min 25.462sec to win the race and amass an unbeatable 104 points in the overall standings.

Finishing behind the Hungarian in the overall event at the Maurice Richard Arena were Pascal Dion, representing host nation Canada, and South Korea’s Lee June-seo, on 63 and 55 points, respectively.

In the 1,000m, Lee - an Olympic relay silver medallist - and compatriot Kwak Yoon-gy finished second and third in the 1,000m.

Home favourite Dion built on his two silver-medal performances on day two to win the 3,000m super-final thanks to a time of 4:42.214.

Lee and The Netherlands’ Sjinkie Knegt followed in 4:42.306 and 4:42.721.

There was more South Korean success in the 5,000m relay with Lee, Kwak, Hang Seung-soo and Park In-wook skating to victory in 6:56.706.

Itzhak de Laat, Friso Emons, Sjinkie Knegt and Sven Roes trailed by 0.077sec while Canadian trio Dion, Steven Dubois and Jordan Pierre-Gilles managed to give compatriot Charles Hamelin a worthy retirement send-off after claiming bronze in 6:56.807.

The 2018 overall world champion ends his career aged 37 after securing four Olympic gold medals and 14 World Championship titles.

Meanwhile, Choi Min-jeong of South Korea leapfrogged overnight leader Kim Boutin of Canada to her win her fourth overall world title.

Choi secured the individual 1,000m and 3,000m super-final wins and accumulated 107 points, beating Boutin by 23 points.

The Netherlands’ Xandra Velzeboer finished third in the overall standings with a points total of 53.

The competition was capped off perfectly for Choi after she united with team-mates Seo Whi-min, Kim A-lang and Shim Suk-hee to win the women's 3,000m relay.

They finished in 4:09.683 to edge Canada in a thrilling finish.

Shim was back in action after missing Beijing 2022 through suspension for insulting team-mates in leaked text messages. 

The hosts, whose team consisted of Boutin, Florence Brunelle, Alyson Charles and Courtney Sarault, were given a time of 4:09.717.

Rianne De Vries, Selma Poutsma, Vara van Kerkhof and Velzeboer secured a Dutch bronze.