Australia blew India away to win the ICC Women's T20 World Cup ©Getty Images

Australia beat India by 85 runs to win the International Cricket Council (ICC) Women's T20 World Cup for a record fifth time.

A crowd of 86,174 witnessed the showpiece event at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, which also featured a performance from pop star Katy Perry.

Having won the toss and chosen to bat, hosts Australia posted a monster total of 184-4, with Beth Mooney's unbeaten 78 the highest individual score.

However, it was her opening partner who stole the show, with Alyssa Healy smashing 75 runs from 39 balls.

She hit all five of the match's sixes in a destructive innings and India paid a steep price for dropping her in the first over.

Mooney's knock featured 10 boundaries, while captain Meg Lanning added 16 runs to the total.

No Indian bowler had an economy of less that seven.

In their response, India lost Shafali Verma after just three deliveries and never looked like reaching the target. 

Verma was dismissed by Megan Schutt, who claimed four wickets for just 18 runs.

Jess Jonassen took three wickets and India were all out for 99, with Deepti Sharma their top scorer with 33 runs.

Healy was named player of the match after her brilliant innings laid the perfect platform for the hosts, while Mooney was the player of the tournament after scoring 259 runs. 

India, who beat Australia in the opening game of the tournament, have never won the ICC Women's T20 World Cup, whereas Australia have now won the competition five times.

The attendance was not big enough to set a new record for women's sport, but did set new records for both women's cricket and women's sport in Australia.