Kikkan Randall is hoping to follow an Olympic gold medal today with Athletes' Commission success ©Getty Images

Voting has closed in the six-strong race to be elected onto two available positions on the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Athletes' Commission.

An announcement is expected to be made tomorrow afternoon in the Athletes' Village to confirm who has been chosen to replace outgoing chair Angela Ruggiero and Britain's Adam Pengilly.

All accredited athletes have been able to cast their votes here at both the Pyeongchang and Gangneung Athletes' Villages since voting opened on February 1.

It closed at 12pm local time today.

The six candidates are led by Italian luge legend Armin Zöggeler, the double Olympic champion.

He is joned by cross-country skiers Astrid Uhrenholdt Jacobsen and Kikkan Randall, from Norway and the United States respectively, Spanish skeleton athlete Ander Mirambell, Finnish ice hockey player Emma Terho and Chinese speed skater Zhang Hong.

Those chosen are due to be officially confirmed as IOC members at a Session due to take place here on Sunday (February 25). 

Yang Yang of China is also due to stand down from the Athletes' Commission, so it is possible that the IOC could also propose at the Session that the third-placed candidate replaces her. 

Zöggeler has won medals at the previous six editions of the Winter Olympics stretching back to Lillehammer 1994, including golds at Salt Lake City and Turin 2006.

He did not compete at Pyeongchang 2018. 

Armin Zöggeler of Italy is among the candidates for the IOC Athletes' Commission ©Getty Images
Armin Zöggeler of Italy is among the candidates for the IOC Athletes' Commission ©Getty Images

China's Zhang claimed gold in the women's 1,000m event at Sochi 2014 and is a two-time World Sprint Championships medallist.

Jacobsen is a three-time World Championships gold medallist, with the most recent success for the 30-year-old coming at this year's event in Lahti in Finland.

She formed part of Norwegian gold medal winning 4x5 kilometres relay team here.

Fellow cross-country skier Randall was a member of the American squad which won the team title at the 2013 World Championships in Val di Fiemme.

She won an Olympic gold medal here today in the team sprint event.

Terho was part of the Finland teams which clinched ice hockey bronze medals at the 1998 Games in Nagano and 12 years later in Vancouver.

Mirambell's achieved his best Olympic result of 23rd here last week.

Zimbabwean swimmer Kirsty Coventry is the new chair of IOC Athletes' Commission for the next two years and Slovakian shooter Danka Bartekova is the new vice-chair. 

Members are elected for eight year terms at every edition of the Olympic Games. 

Ruggiero will step-down after serving as chair since the Rio 2016 edition.

Pengilly, the only IOC member to vote against the Executive Board's decision on Russian doping before Rio 2016, ended his tenure by leaving the Games early last week after becoming involved in an incident with a security guard.